top of page

Water Purification Ceremony

When I arrived in Ubud and met up with my friend Sarah, she told me about an incredible experience she'd had the day before. She'd been to a very intense but deeply moving Hindu water purification ceremony - I of course wanted to see for myself what it was like so arranged a driver to take me to the priestess a few days later.

Balinese people seem to have ceremonies everyday, as I wrote when I first arrived on this beautiful island. When I first heard about the tooth-filing ceremony that happens for teenagers, I was incredibly intrigued but knew that, unless I was invited along by a family, this was never going to be something that I would experience for myself. The Water Purification ceremony on the other hand is a cleansing ceremony recommended for everyone and can be performed many times during a person’s life. The purpose is to rid yourself of any bad ‘humours’ or spirits, any negativities and, well, to be cleansed and grant yourself fresh and positive start. I like the symbolism of this - the idea of it carries far more meaning for me than ceremonies like the Catholic Christening or confirmation do - so was happy to take part.

The driver took me to a small village around 45 minutes outside of Ubud. The priestess was extremely special since she was so young and, usually, this is a job reserved for an elderly, perhaps wiser lady. Now just 24, she had been chosen by the universe five years ago to become a priestess of quite a high rank. I asked the driver how she knew she had been chosen and he told me that people know in a variety of ways but it is something that the whole village knows and understands: the person could have had visions or dreams or could be given signs throughout their life that this is their destined path.

The ceremony took place at the priestess’ family home which was quite a large complex and, away from the ceremony area, was full of children playing, women working, chickens squaking and televisions blaring - none of this was immediately visible but I saw this kind of village-like atmosphere after the ceremony had taken place when walking around.

When I arrived, the priestess was sitting on an alter singing and chanting, throwing holy water occasionally and petals, ringing bells and sounding gongs. All of the people people there for the ceremony were sitting on a lower alter, cross-legged and eyes closed meditating and waiting for their personal purification ceremony to start. Sarah had warned me that I was likely to see some strong reactions during the ceremony - she had witnessed a girl fainting as well as people screaming and crying. I was intrigued to say the least.

After around half an hour of the chanting, gonging and meditation, people were invited up to the alter in pairs. I watched as people closed their eyes while the priestess poured water over them, all the while chanting, singing and giving instructions. They were told to wash themselves clean by rubbing their arms, legs, whole bodies. They also had to stomp their feet to rid themselves of all the negative energy and bad spirits. People were crying, wailing, screaming even. It was quite an intense experience to watch. I couldn’t help thinking, ‘What must the neighbours think, hearing all this racket day after day as people come to be purified, all the time screaming and wailing?’… and then realised I have actually turned into my mum by thinking this :)

Balinese Water Purification Ceremony

When it was my turn, I went up alone. I wondered what my reaction would be like and whether it would make me cry, laugh, scream or shout like the other people. In the end, my ceremony was silent on my part but I definitely got the shivers as she was chanting above my head and throwing cold water all over me. There were a couple of times where the priestess looked me straight in the eye and said things like, ‘Remember, you are a compassionate being. Be compassionate. To yourself and to others.’ It really felt as though she could read my mind and I can definitely see why people have such a strong reaction to such a ceremony. It was all quite magical as experiences go and I certainly haven’t done anything like this before. Unbeknownst to me, the driver had taken his phone out and was filming my ceremony and snapping away with some photos, hence why I’ve been able to include them on here.

After the ceremony, we were invited to the back of the complex to a meditation terrace where we sat and meditated in a big circle surrounded by the most beautiful nature - the terrace (and house actually) must have been on top of a hill or cliff because somehow, we were almost at tree-height. The birds were chirping and the insects were buzzing. Again, a magical experience. An American lady who clearly lives in Bali and must come to the priestess regularly - she had brought a Japanese friend this time - sang and used quite a few meditation bowls during the meditation which made for an even more magical experience. So, as experiences go, this was certainly one I’ll remember for a long while. It reminded me to approach each and every new experience and encounter with people - especially with but not limited to people of different cultural backgrounds to my own - with an open mind and a positive mindset. Then the fun, learning and magic begins!


bottom of page