top of page

Whirligig (noun)

Whirligig: A whirligig is an object that spins or whirls, or has at least one member that spins or whirls. Whirligigs are also known as pinwheels, buzzers, comic weathervanes, gee-haws, spinners, whirlygigs, whirlijig, whirlyjig, whirlybird, or plain whirly. Whirligigs are most commonly powered by the wind but can be hand, friction, or motor powered. (Wikipedia)

In my attempts to be all artsy and figurative, I've come up with this name for my blog. I thought it fitting for a blog that will take me through my next round of adventures. While I'm a person who is generally quite grounded, I'm at a point in my life where things can be up in the air, in a spin, where there's so much still to be determined.

The original meaning of whirligig dates back to ca. 1440 and it was actually a spinning-top game. The modern interpretation of a wind-powered, spinning object seems even more fitting right now. My mood can completely change when walking, running or cycling outside on a wild, blustery day - the wind can be uplifting; it can perk me up when I feel at my most low. When we take time out with mother nature, it can be a reminder that we are a part of this earth and it's a part of us too.

There we go... metaphorical & artsy :)


bottom of page